Nintendo of Europe’s Splatoon 2 Tourneys Don’t List Russia and Dozens of Other Countries

They bafflingly exclude over 30 countries replacing them with the 'other European countries' option

Yesterday Nintendo of Europe announced that European players can now use a ‘’brand new online community’’ for the game in order to join teams, find teammates, and take part in online tournaments. However, there are only 10 European countries listed in the country select screen (United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Norway, Sweden, Finland, and Denmark), as over 30 different European nations are excluded including large ones like Russia.

Fans have taken to Twitter to express their displeasure with the poor offering. Criticizing the fact that so many countries aren’t available, and that they can’t find local players as intended due to it. Nintendo of Europe is aware of the issue, but has not detailed any plans to fix it yet. Nintendo has stated that players from other countries should select the ‘’Other European countries’’ option for now.

Nintendo of Europe’s first European tournament is set to take place on January 13.